Parrikar is the only option for bringing the BJP back to power claims the survey

Numerous speculations of Parrikar joining back the Goan politics have been rejected by the BJP office bearers in Goa. The former CM and present Raksha Mantri Mr. Manohar Parrikar has himself ruled out the possibility of joining the Goan politics back on various occasions but the latest survey conducted by the Kautilya Voter Intelligence has exposed the possibility of BJP losing the grounds in the Goan politics in 2017 elections. Read the complete report here.

[su_expand more_text=”READ MORE” less_text=” ” height=”0″ hide_less=”yes” link_style=”button” link_align=”center”]According to Kautilya Survey Report 2016, the Arvind Kejriwal promoted Aam Aadmi Party will come out to be single largest party in 2017 elections in the state of Goa. The survey also pointed out towards the growing disapproval of the people of Goa for BJP due to its misgovernance in the state. The people of Goa does not have the confidence in the leadership of existing chief minister and only if the defence minister Manohar Parrikar gets portrayed by BJP as chief ministerial candidate then there is a possibility of BJP regaining the popularity in Goa.

The key person behind this survey who is also the founder and ceo of Advaita Teertha Private Limited, Sankalp Chandelkar told the media persons that, there is a negative vibe in the voters of Goa since the reins of Goa has been taken over by Laxmikant Parsekar. “People of Goa do not feel confident about his (Parsekar) leadership,” said Sankalp adding that   “Conducted in August 2016, the survey shows a consolidation of favourable sentiment for AAP and chances of it forming the government with the help of independents.”

According to the survey published by Kautilya, AAP is likely to get 14 out of 40 seats, closely followed by BJP with 11 seats. It also shows that Congress’ performance would be worse than in 2012 as they are expected to get only seven seats against the 9 seats it won in 2012. The Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) will bag six whereas two seats will be cornered by independents. Surprisingly some of the regional parties are not included in the survey which also claims of winning many seats in 2017 elections.

Further, if elections are held now, BJP will get 27% vote share, MGP 15%, Congress 18%, Independents (5%) and AAP (35%), according to the survey. “Eighty-three per cent of the respondents said that they wanted a change in government, indicating a huge wave of anti-incumbency against BJP,” he said. The survey also said that most of the respondents gave first and second preference for the chief ministerial candidate.


The Kautilya survey also claimed that 28% respondents wanted Parrikar to be declared as chief minister candidate while twenty-four per cent respondents said that they would prefer PWD minister Ramkrishna Dhavalikar alias Sudin over the present chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar and deputy chief minister Francis D’Souza. 18% are in favour of Margao MLA Digambar Kamat as CM candidate, 17% favour former Fatorda MLA Damodar Naik, 6% Elvis Gomes and 7% for Fatorda MLA Vijai Sardesai.

In another option, in case Mr. Parrikar does not enter the Goan politics, 28% respondent favoured Mr. Dhavalikar as the next chief ministerial candidate for Goa. Here again 18% favoured Digamber Kamat, 17% Damodar Naik, 15% Laxmikant Parsekar and 7% Rajendra Arlekar. The survey did not vote for the opposition leader Pratapsingh Rane and his son Vishwajit Rane for the chief ministerial candidate.

The above survey also shows that there is no possibility of new generation regional parties getting any seats in the 2017 polls. While some of the old regional parties are also raising their heads back in the politics claiming to put candidates in all 40 constituencies. What will happen to them? Do you have any answer to this? Please do share with us.



Also Read...

Scroll to Top