BJP leaders claims of sweeping victory in Municipal Election 2015


According to the claims made by BJP leaders, their party supported candidates have gathered the majority of seats in municipal election 2015, out of 11 municipal councils the party claims to have won 8. The victory was celebrated at CM’s Press conference which looked like a dazzling after party with loud music in the background while the party leaders have seen interacting with the press.

Although BJP leaders have claimed the victory in 8 towns but in reality they have only won in 6 towns. According to the sources, BJP received the clear majority in Sanguem, Curchorem, Pernem, Mapusa, Bicholim & Murmagao while Congress retained their hold in Valpoi, Margao, Quepem & Cuncolim and Canacona remained undecided due to tie.

In one of the TV interview, BJP party president Vinay Tendulkar has claimed that Vishwajit Rane-led Valpoi Yuva Morcha will support the BJP panel, Goa Prism tried to get in touch with Vishwajit on this, but he was not available for the comment.

Meanwhile there was a mixed response from various party candidates on this municipal polls, according to congress spokesperson Sunil Khavtankar, “Last time BJP got distinction but this time they had to get satisfied with the just 2nd class, and I am sure that in forthcoming assembly election they will get third class,” he said. The Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar claimed that, the people of Goa had stood by them and the results show that they have complete faith in us,” while asking on assembly election he said that there is still time and how can he comment about that so early, but he maintained that “People have faith in our governance and they will not let us down”.

Based on the final tally of the seats here is the clear picture of results.

Town                              BJP                       CONG                             IND

MAPUSA                           16                         ——                      04

BICHOLIM                        10                         ——-                    02

VALPOI                            —–                       07                         02

PEDNEM                           08                         —–                       02

MORMAGAO                     15                         ——                      10

MARGAO                          04                         18                         04

CUNCOLIM                       02                         06                         04

QUEPEM                           —-                        07                         04

CURCHOREM                    12                         ——                      02

SANGUEM                        08                         ——                      02

CANACONA                      05                         ——-                    05


The Major players who were behind these victories are..

TOWN                               SUPPORTER                                   PARTY

MAPUSA                          FRANCIS D’SOUZA                                BJP

VALPOI                            VISHWAJIT RANE                                CONG

MARGAO                          DIGAMBER KAMAT                               CONG

SANGUESM                      SUBHASH FALDESAI                            BJP

CURCHOREM                    NILESH CABRAL                                  BJP

QUEPEM                          BABU KAVLEKAR                                  CONG

CONCOLIM                       JOQUIM ALEMAO                                 CONG


Source: Various Sources

Edited by Goa Prism News Desk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.